Firstly, it’s been a little while since I blogged and I feel like I should write something. Secondly, this is a topic close to my heart. 

I’ve seen some articles recently about the displacement of people’s in Houston due to the severe weather conditions and I’ve seen some articles about the displacement of people in Europe as part of the migrant crisis. The hardest part, though, of what I’ve seen in recent weeks and days has been working through what I’ve been feeling and trying to identify what it is. 

Then this evening I realised, it’s helplessness. It’s a feeling of wanting to be able to help, to respond appropriately and effectively and not being able to do so. This feeling is awful. 

It almost feels as if the visit I was involved with in April to Sicily and Lampedusa happened in a bubble in time, a place where I was able to think purely about the situation in Europe and about the people. Now that we have  had time to take a step back and to see what is happening it becomes increasingly apparent that the government in the UK is not pulling it’s weight like the rest of Europe is. 

I wish that there was more that could be in Britain to help those fleeing harm in foreign countries, but media coverage is severely biased and therefore the British people, those who could actually make a difference, aren’t reacting positively and with a helpful frame of mind. 

But then what I’ve said probably poses more questions than answers it gives but I feel like we ought to take stock of what our local communities are doing in response to the crisis. Are we offering a drop in service for refugees or asylum seekers? Are we offering language courses, food parcels or asylum advice? Are we sponsoring families to settle in the UK? There are also a whole host of other things that we can do at a local level to encourage growing relations with different communities. Are we calling on our local councils to support our efforts and to help extend a warm welcome?

At a national level, we need to call on government and faith leaders to make a commitment to changing how we respond. Something practical, something worthwhile and something that will have a lasting effect. 

Then again, that is just my thinking. 
Jake 

2 thoughts on “The struggle of helplessness. 

Leave a Reply

